Auglaize County, Ohio

History and Genealogy

History of Auglaize County


Wapakoneta, the county-seat, on the Auglaize River and D. & M. R. R., in Duchouquet township; St. Marys, on the St. Marys River, M. & E. Canal, and L. E. & W. R. R., St. Marys township; New Bremen, on canal and L. E. & W. R. R., German township; Minster, similarly situated in Jackson township, present terminus of the road; St. Johns, Clay township; New Hampshire, in Goshen; New Knoxville, in Washington; Waynesfield, in Wayne; Uniopolis, in Union; Cridersville, in Duchouquet; Buckland, on L. E. & W., in Logan; Kossuth, on canal, in Salem; and Moulton and Glynnwood, in Moulton; the latter a station on L. E. & W. R. R., comprise the villages of the county.

From "History of Auglaize County, Ohio, with the Indian History of Wapakoneta, and the First Settlement of the County", Robert Sutton, Publishers, Wapakoneta, 1880